Dispensa Ep. 4 - Open Beta - Hasura Hackathon

ยท

2 min read

Dispensa Ep. 4 - Open Beta - Hasura Hackathon

Introduction ๐Ÿ‘‹

The MVP discussed in the last episode seems to work pretty well. I have made some changes and fixes here and there, but I want to prepare for the Hackathon submission.

There is still a lot of stuff I'd like to tell you about this project. For example how it uses GitHub Actions & Expo to deploy directly to the stores or how it handles navigation. However, I want to get ready for the end of this project. So in this episode we're going over the Open Beta (links at the end!)

Preparing the repository ๐Ÿ“ฆ

One of the requirements for this Hackathon was to have an Open Source license on the repository. I chose MIT because it is very permissive and I'd love for someone to take on this project and expand it further. GitHub makes handling licenses very convenient, so it was just a matter of making one commit.

Then, it was time to write a few lines about the project. I've had a lot of fun exploring new and old technologies, and this was a good opportunity to go over them all again. You can find everything in the README.

For the screenshot, I have used assets provided on an amazing website called Angle which offers high-quality mockup of many different devices. I have bought a lifetime license a while ago and it still comes in handy.

The result โœ…

As a result, I have these beautiful screenshots of the very minimalistic Dispensa. It's been a ton of fun to take part in this hackathon!

Screenshots of Dispensa

And last but not least, if you'd like to take part in the Open Beta for this application you can now do so! Let me know if you have any feedback or find bugs.

๐ŸŽ TestFlight Open Beta for iOS

๐Ÿค– Beta Track for Android

Social

"Dispensa" is the Italian word for "Pantry" and my idea is to make an application to track what food is available in your home to make the experience of buying groceries a bit easier.

As always, you can find me on Twitter and GitHub. The code for this project can be found on its GitHub repository